October 21, 1959 – The current Guggenheim Museum, designed by famous architect Frank Lloyd Wright, opened its doors. It originally opened its doors in 1939 as the Museum of Non-Objective Painting.

The museum’s building, a landmark work of 20th-century architecture designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, was completed in 1959. It consists of a six-story, bowl-shaped main gallery to the south, a four-story “monitor” to the north, and a ten-story annex to the northeast. The main gallery contains a six-story helical ramp that extends along its perimeter, as well as a central ceiling skylight.