On October 9, 1962, Uganda gained independence from British rule.

Uganda (Yuganda in Ugandan languages), officially the Republic of Uganda (Swahili: Jamhuri ya Uganda), is a landlocked country in East Africa. The country is bordered to the east by Kenya, north by South Sudan, west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, southwest by Rwanda, and south by Tanzania. The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, shared with Kenya and Tanzania. Uganda is in the African Great Lakes region. Uganda also lies within the Nile basin and has a varied but modified equatorial climate. It has a population of around 46 million, of which 8.5 million live in Kampala’s capital and largest city.

Uganda is named after the Buganda kingdom, which encompasses a large portion of the country’s south, including the capital Kampala and whose language Luganda is widely spoken throughout the country.

Uganda was grateful for its independence and here are some gratitude mindfulness exercises.