Insight Daily

Enjoy more clarity, resilience, and focus.

Almost everything works better again if we unplug it for a bit, including our minds. Find the benefits of a regular insight practice without any fuss. Make yourself at home one time or for a while.

@2:50 meets at the same time every single day for ten minutes of quiet together. No previous experience, no registration needed.

map of at2:50 times zone correspondences for standard time

Each button links to a free, live, daily webinar that starts just before 2:50 pm local time.

Live@2:50 pm EET
Helsinki (UTC+2)

12:50 pm London
8:50 am Rio de Janeiro
7:50 am New York
5:50 am Mexico City
4:50 am Vancouver
1:50 am Honolulu
8:50 pm Tokyo
5:20 pm Delhi

Live@2:50 pm EDT
New York (UTC-4)

9:50 pm Helsinki
7:50 pm London
3:50 pm Rio de Janeiro
12:50 pm Mexico City
11:50 am Vancouver
8:50 am Honolulu
3:50 am Tokyo
12:20 am Delhi

Live@2:50 pm PDT
Vancouver (UTC-7)

12:50 am Helsinki
10:50 pm London
6:50 pm Rio de Janeiro
5:50 pm New York
3:50 pm Mexico City
11:50 pm Honolulu
6:50 am Tokyo
3:20 am Delhi

We’re here so that no matter who, where, or when you are, you can conveniently practice for ten minutes with minimal effort on any day.

Not ready to join live? Listen to Nalu | Mind the Flow, a pre-recorded journey for insights on your own time.

nalu mind the flow color wave pattern

Why mindfulness? Because

  • even ten minutes spent quietly can affect the rest of the day;
  • a mindfulness practice prepares you for future challenges;
  • your plate of ‘to-dos’ can likely wait ten minutes.

 

How do I participate?

A short introduction is offered at 2:48 each day. You might,

  • observe your breathing and let it go in and out by itself or;
  • notice sensations in your body with your mind’s eye or;
  • visualize a relaxing scene or something you are grateful for.

Why 2:50 PM?

By holding @2:50 in the middle of the day, we acknowledge the vital role a mindful or meditation practice can play in our lives. Is mindfulness as essential as clean water, nourishing food, and trips to the bathroom? A growing body of evidence suggests that it is.

 

What if I can’t join @2:50 pm?

You’re welcome to join @250 as often or as infrequently as your schedule allows. @250’s global mission is to encourage ten minutes of mindfulness in whatever form or time works best for you.

Participants say

Participants claim various activities during the ten minutes at 2:50 p.m. Some people might walk or sit outside. Others have said they use the time to sketch or journal. Some folks mention getting in a quick nap. @2:50 is less about what we do and more about the repetition and habit of doing it each day. Continuity grows our mindful practice.

“I set my alarm for this every day. Even if I’m out on a walk, I try to join.” –P.

“For me, having everyone show up at the same time every day makes a difference in my life.” –M.

“Sometimes I just use this as a time to clean up my desk.” –H.

“It’s like my day is now in two parts. Before @2:50 and after.” –D.

Subscribe for occasional updates. No more than once per month.

Get reminders to be mindful on our calendar.

map of time zones hosting at 250

How might we make mindfulness the new bio break?

 

An open invitation

We envision a world where any hour, at ten minutes to the hour, there is an online ten-minute mindful meetup for anyone with an internet connection to participate in. Start an @250 in your home time zone. Let’s fill the globe! Learn more.

@2:50 Milestones

  • Tue 12 Mar marks four years of Atlantica@2:50
  • Fri 10 Nov marks the 1000th day of Europa@2:50.
  • Sun 13 Aug 2023 Pacifica@2:50 begins in the Pacific time zone.
  • Tue 6 Dec 2022 marked 1000 consecutive days of EST@2:50.

About @2:50

@2:50 is a daily mindfulness practice shared free with the world. Created at MIT and volunteer-run, @2:50 helps you reflect & recharge with minimal planning. @2:50 promotes no creed, sect, organization, or ideology. People join from around the world. We simply meet every day for ten minutes of quiet, and everyone is invited.

Joining on camera

Anyone anywhere can join any day using the links at the top of the page. Everyone is also welcome to join the on-screen panel. To register for the daily Zoom meeting, leave your first name and email here and expect a Zoom meeting invitation daily in your inbox.

Volunteer hosts

Partha hosts Europa@2:50 from Finland. Professionally, he is a Supply Chain practitioner focused on S&OP / IBP. Personally, he enjoys walking in the forest. As an @2:50 host and life in general, he draws inspiration from non-dual (Advaita, Sanskrit) philosophies from the East and the West.

VK co-hosts various @2:50s. Professionally, she is an academic research scientist in fluids & structures. Personally, she likes poetry, opera, and Scottish dancing. As an @2:50 host, she is into short mindfulness practices, easily incorporated into the day.

Arthur hosts Atlantica@2:50. Professionally, he serves as a service design strategist in health and human services. Personally, he enjoys cycling and art-making. As an @2:50 host, he draws on experiences from yoga and meditation practices. https://arthurgrau.com

billy at 250 host

Billy hosts Pacifica@2:50 from Singapore. Professionally, he is a full-time student in Singapore American School. Personally, he is a classical music, rocket, and sleeping enthusiast. As an @2:50 host, he is exploring different philosophical schools of thought through meditation and trying to answer the age-old question: “what is the meaning of Life?”

Mindful Practice Resources

Breathing with Nature

Breathing with Nature

For the @2:50 second anniversary, Natalie Hill from MIT ORSEL joined us to share this breathing with nature practice. Each practice introduces a sentence for the in-breath, a sentence for the out-breath, and a...

Gratitude mind guided audio

Gratitude mind guided audio

Gratitude practice is one of several techniques we practice daily @2:50 pm. Gratitude and gratefulness practice can evoke sensations and feelings that resonate with us for the rest of the day. We find attention to...

The Nose Knows

The Nose Knows

Breath attention for focusing is one of several techniques we practice daily @2:50 pm. Focusing on sensations and feelings related directly to breathing can serve as an anchor for the rest of the day. We find that...

Boxed Breathing

Boxed Breathing

Boxed breathing is a supplemental @2:50 practice shared by one of our regular participants. It's a simple effective technique that quickly brings the mind into focus. It can be used anywhere and anytime. You can modify...

Using the breath guided audio

Using the breath guided audio

Attending to the breath is one of several techniques we practice daily @2:50 pm. Breath attention is one of the simplest most effective practices available to anyone anywhere. For this reason, we return to it again as...

Body observation guided audio

Body observation guided audio

Observation of sensation is one of several techniques we practice daily @2:50 pm. Watching sensations is a simple effective practice available to anyone anywhere at any time. For this reason, we return to it again as...

All photographs © arthur grau